Pharmaceutical companies making generic drugs – Odisha Diary


New Delhi: Manufacturing licenses for generic drugs and new drugs are granted respectively by the various National Drug Controllers and the Drug Controller General of India (under the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare) . A common list of all such generic drug manufacturers in the private sector is not maintained at the Department of Pharmaceuticals. However, three PSUs under the Department of Pharmaceuticals viz. Bengal Chemicals and Pharmaceuticals Limited (BCPL) in West Bengal, Hindustan Antibiotics Limited (HAL) in Maharashtra and Karnataka Antibiotics & Pharmaceuticals Limited (KAPL) in Karnataka manufacture generic drugs.

The Pradhan Mantri Bhartiya Janaushadhi Pariyojana (PMBJP) was launched by the Department with the aim of making quality generic medicines available at affordable prices to the citizens of the country. As part of the program, dedicated points of sale called Pradhan Mantri Bhartiyta Janaushadhi Kendras (PMBJP) are open to provide quality generic drugs at affordable prices. Under the PMBJP, until 30.06.2022, 8742 PMBJKs have been opened across the country, including public hospitals and government premises. The program has a product basket of 1,616 drugs and 250 surgical supplies. The prices of drugs sold by these outlets are 50-90% lower than those of brand name drugs on the open market.

Public health and hospitals, being the subject of the state, the responsibility to supply medicines rests with the respective state governments and details of medicines prescribed and supplied to patients are not available from the Department of Pharmaceuticals. Under the National Health Mission (NHM), support is provided for the free provision of essential generic drugs in public health facilities. In addition, CGHS purchases generic drugs through the Medical Stores Organization of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Chemicals and Fertilizers, Shri Bhagwanth Khuba in a written response to Rajya Sabha today.


About Author

Comments are closed.